About Armenia


Armenia , officially known as Republic of Armenia, lies in the South Caucasus region of Eurasia. It is particularly a mountainous country. The capital and the largest city of Armenia is Yerevan. The widely spoken and official language of the country is Armenian.
It was in 6th Century B.C that the first kingdom of Armenia was established. The country was the first nation in the world which adopted Christianity as its religion. During the 11th and 14th centuries, a kingdom called ‘Cilician Armenia’ existed on the coast of the Mediterranean Sea. Armenian homeland was divided into Ottomon and Russian empires in early 19th century. Armenia became independent in year 1918. However, between years 1920 to 1990, Armenia came under the rule of Soviet Union. The country got true independence in year 1991.
Armenia lies in between latitudes 38 degree North & 42 degree North, and meridians 43 degree East & 47 degree East. The country covers a total land area of 29,743 kms. Majority of the terrain of the country is mountainous with presence of fast flowing rivers and few forests. The country experiences hot summers and cold winters. While the temperature in winters ranges from -10 degree Celsius to -5 degree Celsius, the temperature in summers ranges from 22 degree Celsius to 33 degree Celsius.

Established in the year 1992, the St. Theresa Medical University is a private medical located in Yerevan, Armenia. The graduated candidates of this university are considered credible doctors, often with various medical specialisations. The university also ties up with nationals like USA, Italy, Canada, Thailand, and Holland. It has also received diplomas from such universities during their period of education. The university has also participated in various international markets with a low number of physicians to increase their scope of employment.

Yerevan State Medical University (YSMU) is the leading institution of higher medical education in Armenia which was founded in 1920. It offers undergraduate and graduate education at six faculties: General Medicine, Stomatology, Pharmacy, Military Medicine, Public Health and Postgraduate and Continuing Education. YSMU is dedicated to training medical specialists being applicable to the essentials of the Republic of Armenia and many countries worldwide. YSMU provides education corresponding to the international educational standards, ensuring highest quality of professional knowledge and competitiveness of diplomas in the international arena. Currently over 5000 students are studying at YSMU various faculties. Multi-profile university clinical hospitals, radiology centre, outpatient clinics appear to be main facilities for YSMU personnel and students to practice and carry out the academic process, meanwhile promoting public health at large.


© 2016 AdmissionEurope. All Rights Reserved | Design & Develop by OITS